Home Compliance Topics Employment
View/Print All Return

Labor Laws (Alabama)

Last Reviewed: May 2023

Labor laws, or employment laws, are laws relating to the rights and responsibilities of workers.

Print Summary

Labor Laws (Alabama): Summary

Alabama Right to Work Law

  • The right of a person to work in Alabama cannot be denied based on whether they are a member of a labor union or other labor organization.  (Alabama Code 25-7-30). 

  • Specifically, no person may be required to be a member of any labor union or organization, and an employer cannot require the payment of union dues or dues to any labor organization as a requirement for employment.   (Alabama Code 25-7-32

  • At the same time, employers may not require that an employee abstain from membership in a labor union or organization as a condition of their employment.  (Alabama Code 25-7-33

Jury Duty of Employees

  • No employer may discharge any employee solely because he serves on any federal or state jury provided that the employee reports back to work on his next regularly scheduled hour after being dismissed from any jury.  (Alabama code 12-16-8.1)
  • Any employee who receives a jury summons shall show the summons to his immediate supervisor and is to then be excused from employment for the amount of time required for jury service. 
  • The employee is to be paid their regular compensation for employment less the fee received for serving as a juror. (Alabama Code 12-16-8

Alabama Child Labor Laws

  • Employers who wish to employ person under 18 years of age must obtain the appropriate Child Labor Certificate(s) for each location where persons under 18 years of age are employed. A Class I Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 14 and 15 year old minors. A Class II Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 16 and 17 year old minors.
  • An Eligibility to Work form is required for each 14 or 15 year old minor employed. These forms can be obtained by the minor from their school. The Eligibility to Work form must be kept in the employee's file
  • During the months when public schools are in session, 14- or 15-year-olds may not work during school hours, they can work between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. and no more than three hours on a school day. They may not work more than a total of 18 hours per week. During the summer months when public schools are not in session, a minor may work up to eight hours per day between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m., but not more than 40 hours per week.
  • 16- 17-or 18-year-olds who are enrolled in high school, may not work before 5 a.m. or after 10 p.m. on a night preceding a school day (Sunday through Thursday). If the teen has completed high school or is no longer in school, there are no hour restrictions.
Print FAQs

Labor Laws (Alabama): FAQs

Print Laws & Regulations

Labor Laws (Alabama): Laws & Regulations

Go to main navigation